Hello! I’ll try to keep it brief because I just want to share a “recipe” for an electrolyte drink 1:1 concentrate I like that I sort of put together out of leftover ingredients (I’m sure it’s not a novel combination by any means). I got the idea of making it a concentrate from starting to make my own chai concentrate over the past two weeks for especially quiet early-morning caffeine consumption. The chai is also a 1:1 concentrate to “milk”. I use soymilk because I like it and I also struggle to get enough protein in my day.

Anyhow, here’s the highly-adaptable-to-your-tastes-or-preferences “recipe”.

Mint “Gingerade” Concentrate

Roughly 6-8 servings ...depending on the depths of your thirst or sweet tooth!

Ingredients

Directions

First, set the water in a medium-sized pot with a lid to boil. While waiting for the water to boil, clean and roughly chop the ginger or remove the ginger tea bags from their packaging, clean the mint leaving the leaves attached to the stems, and juice the lemon.

Once the water is boiling, turn the heating element off. Next, place the ginger (/tea bags) and mint in the pot, gently stirring to submerge the ingredients, then place the lid on the pot*. Let steep for at least 15 minutes, and up to 20 minutes for a stronger flavor.

*this step can be done in a teapot if you have one

Strain the liquid into a vessel with a pouring spout or a large bowl. Whisk in the honey, brown sugar, and vanilla extract until all are fully incorporated. Allow mixture to cool to room temperature before mixing in lemon juice.

Pour mixture into a resealable jar or container and place in a refrigerator. When serving, mix one part concentrate to one part water. Stir in a little cayenne pepper for some kick if you so desire. Enjoy!